Friday Five – Thanksgiving

So I should first probably introduce this, since I’m new to the Friday Five and trying it out. As a new blogger I spend a good amount of time (probably too much) reading other people’s blogs. I want to know what other people are writing, thinking, suggesting and questioning. The answer is – anything and everything. As some of my loved ones caution me on my ideas for posts – my fellow bloggers keep suggesting and questioning and risking. They inspire…

One of the great blogs I read is RevGalBlogPals which is, as you might guess, a site where clergy women gather to blog together, inspire and assist in sermon ideas, advise and encourage in ministry. It’s a great blog. And every friday – they have something called the “Friday Five” – to get our juices flowing and to allow many of us to connect on an idea or thought. Usually briefly, usually very fun. So here is today’s Friday Five:

Jan’s Friday Five: Thanksgiving Thoughts
The Cure

Lying around all day
with some strange new deep blue
weekend funk, I’m not really asleep
when my sister calls
to say she’s just hung up
from talking with Aunt Bertha
who is 89 and ill but managing
to take care of Uncle Frank
who is completely bed ridden.
Aunt Bert says
it’s snowing there in Arkansas,
on Catfish Lane, and she hasn’t been
able to walk out to their mailbox.
She’s been suffering
from a bad case of the mulleygrubs.
The cure for the mulleygrubs,
she tells my sister,
is to get up and bake a cake.
If that doesn’t do it, put on a red dress.

–Ginger Andrews (from Hurricane Sisters)

So this Friday before Thanksgiving, think about Aunt Bert and how she’ll celebrate Thanksgiving! And how about YOU?

1. What is your cure for the “mulleygrubs”?
It used to be chocolate… and a movie. But with my boys climbing all over me these days I usually go for a big tickle session. The loud belly laughs of my boys is always the best way to cheer myself up. After that – fresh air…

2. Where will you be for Thanksgiving?
We will be “here” – close by that is. My brother and his family will host (they live about 15 minutes away) and my immediate family will descend upon us for the week – a sister and family from Michigan, a brother from South Carolina.

3. What foods will be served? Which are traditional for your family?
We are a classic midwestern family – turkey, mashed potatoes and gravy, stuffing, sweet potatoes and green beans. I feel very blessed, though, to have eschewed the really classic midwestern dishes – we do not serve the dreaded green bean casserole with french’s onions on the top and the sweet potatoes will be sans marshmallows… What can I say?

4. How do you feel about Thanksgiving as a holiday?
Love it love it love it love it. When I was a child it was always my favorite holiday. My father’s side of my family used to gather every Thanksgiving – 12 cousins – lots of boys – for food and football and lots of fun. I am the youngest cousin – so I always loved being around the big kids. I loved the liveliness of it all. The cooking, the joking, the eating. At the end of the night we always had a totally rowdy and rauckus game of spoons. Once we broke my Aunt’s dining room table. She was not pleased.

Now that side of the family gathers every summer instead – more vacation time to manage – more time together. But our Thanksgivings together still color my love of this wonderful holiday.

5. In this season of Thanksgiving, what are you grateful for?
I am grateful for my family, especially for my boys and my hubby. Sooo grateful for the health of my father-in-law, and his continuing recovery from recent illness and surgery, and the other family members who have rallied to surround him with care (especially my sister-in-law.) Lastly, I am thankful for this new community, new friends welcoming us in, and the slow but sure journey of feeling at home here.

Wishing you all a feast of food and a community that loves you this Thanksgiving….

Posted in Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Friday Five – Thanksgiving

  1. What a great post. Your chiklhood Thanksgivings sound like my Christmasses, except I was the oldest of a bunch of 11 mainly girl cousins. We’ll be in MidWest USA for Christmas this year. I’ll look out for the bean casserole. i think I could cope with that but not so sure about marshmallows on sweet potato!

Leave a Reply

