#Reverb10 – Healing

December 19 – Healing. What healed you this year? Was it sudden, or a drip-by-drip evolution? How would you like to be healed in 2011? (Author: Leonie Allan)

The reverb prompt for this morning is about healing, which is funny since I feel sick as a dog.  It’s hard to imagine that anything in my body has ever been healed as my throat aches and I feel like I have a large animal sitting on my chest.  Hold on while I blow my nose…

But when I think of any healing that has been in my life the thing that comes to mind is something that’s been healing for the past few years, so I guess it’s been a drip by drip thing, although I think has finally solidified in 2010.  I have to be very careful when I write about this, since I’ve gotten into hot water with this topic before.  But suffice it to say that I find much joy in my calling to the ministry, and a significant part of that is due to my amazing chemistry and friendship with my colleague in ministry.  I know both from experience and from many stories from many friends, that this is not always the case.  Working relationships in any field can be strained and challenging.  God made our world with great diversity of species and of people, it shouldn’t be any other way.  I never expect that I will get along with every human I come into contact with, it seems almost arrogant to assume that everyone I meet will like me.  However, it’s really nice when someone with whom you spend many hours, sometimes late ones, sometimes doing very difficult things (like officiating at the memorial service of a young son of a church member, or chaperoning a group of 9th graders), it’s really nice when that person likes you, and you like them.  It’s even nicer when they make you laugh, and you enjoy their company.  It’s even nicer when they respect you, value your opinions and your creativity, even defer to you knowing that you are quite capable of handling lots of difficult issues on your own.  In fact, it’s not just nice.  It’s very very, amazingly healing.  And I am thankful to feel whole again.

As I imagine my way forward into 2011, I’m not sure in what ways I’d like to be healed.  I have an inkling of a few, but I’m not sure I’m ready to put words to those things yet.  Instead, I’ll offer up those secret prayers for healing…and just wait and see what happens…

One thought on “#Reverb10 – Healing

Leave a Reply

