Parenting out of Abundance

So the plan to blog into 2012 has well, gone by the wayside… But I read this today and it tied into my word for the year, as well as answered my own questions and prayers as we celebrated my youngest’s fourth birthday last week. Living where we do, surrounded by affluence, it can be very hard to remember what is truly important when it comes to providing for my children. As a working mom it can be hard to resist the temptation to give them what they want instead of what they need. These words struck me today from The Parent’s Tao Te Ching

Your children will make many demands
upon your time and energy.
“Do this for us.
Buy this for us.”
They believe that these things
are what they want from you.
And you may begin
To believe it too.

But what they really want
is your innermost heart,
given in vulnerable, honest love.
This is not given
by doing or buying.
The more you do,
the less gets done.
The more you buy,
the less you have.
But if you reveal
your true nature,
you provide them everything.

Of course there are times,
when I do for my children.
It is often my great pleasure.
But the things remembered,
the treasured moments
of sacred time,
have occurred
in the quiet
of gentle conversation,
and honest sharing.

Leave a Reply

